Family Law and Personal Injury Attorneys

CallFree initial consultation 331-588-6611

In Illinois many motorists wait until they receive a written notice from the Illinois Secretary of State that their license plate sticker is about to expire and then buy a new Illinois vehicle sticker. The alternative is that you can be charged with driving on an expired plate. Most motorists still continue to wait until this reminder notice is received before purchasing their sticker. But beginning this year, 2016 that notice won't come.

Surprise!

Did you Know: for 2016 the Illinois Secretary of State will no longer be sending written notice to motorists that their vehicle stickers are about to expire and must be renewed. Illinois drivers now must remember on their own when to renew their license plate stickers or run the risk of being fined if caught driving on expired plates. So now you may find out for the first time if you're pulled over by the police that you are driving on an expired sticker. Sounds like small change. But consider that driving on an expired sticker can cost you. The penalty is $90 for the expired sticker and $20 late fee in addition to the cost of the sticker. Or take off from work, go to court and spend a morning or afternoon in traffic court. Lose a day's pay in other words.

...

After spending six months in jail for allegedly stealing pencils and two paintbrushes from Hobby Lobby store, it seems like the Defendant would go free on bond.

Shoplifting such a small amount would be a petty crime. Not so. the alleged shoplifting occurred while Ignatius Pollara was vacationing in Illinois. Just happens that he was on probation in Florida for stealing some $2 million worth of toy Lego sets and other merchandise. So a high bond was set by the DuPage County Judge. Chicago Tribune.

Mr. Pollara argued on his own motion asking to be released within 14 days since his personal property seized from him and had not been returned. He claimed this was a violation of his due-process rights. Among other items, he asked the Judge to return a plush “Mr. Froggy" toy.

...

In Illinois many motorists wait until they receive a written notice from the Illinois Secretary of State that their license plate sticker is about to expire and then buy a new Illinois vehicle sticker. The alternative is that you can be charged with driving on an expired plate. Most motorists still continue to wait until this reminder notice is received before purchasing their sticker. But beginning this year, 2016 that notice won't come.

 

Surprise!

...

Oftentimes, people associate slip and fall accidents with older individuals. They assume that only older people are prone to falling and getting injured. However, that is not necessarily the case. Many individuals aged 24 and older end up suffering from these types of accidents every day. In fact, millions of younger individuals end up falling each year.

Beyond the 15-24-year-old age group, the CDC claims that unintentional falls are the main cause of injuries for every age group in the entire country. Back in 2009, there were more than 8.5 million cases of people suffering injuries from their falls. According to the CDC, falls are also the main cause of traumatic brain injuries. These injuries can be severe enough to leave the victim with brain damage.

All over the world people fall each and every day. These slip and fall accidents could end up leaving you seriously injured. In fact, some injuries have proven fatal. Regardless of how minor or how severe you think your injuries are, you need to turn to a trusted slip and fall attorney to help get you the money you deserve. Many government agencies have records accounting for all the injuries sustained from slip and fall accidents among the elderly population.

...
Back to Top